ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Updated Cricket Schedule, Scores, Results & Standings

 ICC T20 World Cup 2021

The first match of ICC T20 World Cup was played on 17th October after being postponed several times. Originally, the tournament was to take place in October in India but it is now taking place in Oman and the United Arab Emirates. This can come as great news for all the cricket fans out there who had been waiting eagerly for this. 

You will find a plethora of websites offering ICC T20 World cup cricket schedules, live scores, team standings, statistics, and more. There are also betting sites available for those who want to use their cricket knowledge to earn some quick bucks.

However, not every betting site offers the best odds. Therefore, it is important that you are playing at the most recommended cricket betting sites in India to bet on your favorite team and get the best odds. This way, you will be able to get the maximum amount if your team wins.

Forty-five matches are to be played over a period of one month in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. Sixteen teams will be seen competing against each other. 

The Group 1 competition started on 23rd October. On 24th October, it was followed by Group 2 competition. The groups are going to alternate days until the semifinals start on 10th November. ICC T20 World Cup finals will take place on 14th November. 

Which Teams are looking Solid

West Indies, the defending champions of 2016, the only team to have won the tournament twice will be looking to take the trophy home once again. When it comes to the ICC T20 Team Rankings, England is at the top, followed by India and Pakistan. 

The most favorites to win the ICC T20 World Cup this year are England, Australia, India, and Pakistan.

Team Groups in ICC T20 World Cup

There are 2 groups in the ICC T20 World Cup with 6 teams each. Here is a lowdown on the teams belonging to each group. 

Teams in Group 1

1. England

2. South Africa

3. Australia

4. Sri Lanka

5. West Indies

6. Bangladesh 

Teams in Group 2

1. India 

2. New Zealand

3. Pakistan

4. Scotland

5. Namibia

6. Afghanistan

The Super 12 stage started on 23rd October in Abu Dhabi and the first match was between South Africa and Australia. This match is going to be followed by a clash between West Indies and England in Dubai.  

Thereafter, the first-round qualifiers, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka are going to start their Super 12 campaign at Sharjah on 24th October.

The Group 2 match commenced on 24th October and the match was between India and Pakistan. Pakistan is then going to play against New Zealand on 26th October at Sharjah.  It is going to be a difficult start for the champions of 2009. Afghanistan is going to start with its campaign on the 25th of October at Sharjah. They are going to engage in combat with Scotland, the Group B winners. 

The matches of Group 1 will come to an end on 6th November with a game between West Indies and Australia. This match is going to take place in Abu Dhabi. But there is also a second match that will take place between South Africa and England in Sharjah.

The matches of Group 2 are going to conclude on 8th November as India takes on Namibia. 

Semi-Finals of ICC World Cup 2021

Cricket fans can watch the semi-finals on the 10th of November. The first match of the semi-final will take place in Abu Dhabi at 6 pm local time. But the second semi-final match will take place on 11th November. 

The winners of the two matches will compete for the trophy on 14th November. 

The Point System

So, the point system for the tournament are as follows:

  • Wins will give 2 points
  • Loss or forfeit will add 0 points
  • No result, tie, or abandoned match will give 1 point

The best 2 teams from each group will move to the Semifinals of the tournament.

Team Standings and Their Key Players

1. England

Jos Buttler is the key player on the squad. In fact, he is known to be one of the top finishers in the world when it comes to the T20 format.

2. Australia

Glenn Maxwell is the main player for this team. He is the most explosive and inventive batter.  Maxwell has the best strike rate among players who have batted a minimum of 20 times in T20 matches. 

3. India

Virat Kohli has managed to make this T20 tournament his own in the previous two seasons. He had been given the title “Player of the tournament” in both seasons of 2014 and 2016.

4. South Africa

The left-arm spinner Tabraiz Shamsi and Aiden Markram can be central to South Africa’s tournament plans. Shamsi has been unplayable in the year 2021, with 28 wickets. That is the maximum wickets at an average of 12.85 by any bowler. in 2021 

5. West Indies

Andre Russel cannot be compared to any other player. For him, no chase is going to be out of reach. Oppositions are always going to feel uncomfortable playing against him. They also have the likes of Gayle, Pollard, and Lewis.

6. Pakistan

Babar Azam will be given the responsibility to score most of the runs. Also, he has to be on his A-game. 

7. New Zealand

Trent Boult has cemented himself as the real three-format bowler as he had success in the shortest form.

8. Afghanistan

Rashid Khan is one of the top spinners of international cricket and he is going to be the key weapon for Afghanistan.

9. Sri Lanka

Wanindu Hasaranga made his international debut in 2019. He has played only 25 T20s but he has become the most important player for Sri Lanka. 

10. Bangladesh

Shakib Al Hasan is ready to be exceptional in this tournament, too.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here